WITCHERY: enthüllen Album Details und neues Musikvideo!

Text: Dark Lord
Veröffentlicht am 01.09.2017 um 16:38 Uhr

Am 10. November veröffentlicht Century Media Records das neue Album "I Am Legion" der Schweden WITCHERY. Aufgenommen und produziert wurde das Album von Daniel Bergstrand in den Dugout Studios (Behemoth, In Flames, Meshuggah). Das Cover Artwork von Andreas Diaz Pettersson erstellt. Die Album Details und ein Musikvideo zur ersten Single "True North" wurde hier enthüllt.

WITCHERY Gitarrist Jensen sagte zum neuen Album: "The first few days after the release of "Nosferatu" (the first single from 2016's "In His Infernal Majesty's Service" album) I was quite taken aback. There had been so many years between the releases of "Don't Fear The Reaper" and "Witchkrieg" (4 years) and then an additional 6 more years between "Witchkrieg" and "In His Infernal Majesty’s Service" that I hardly thought anyone remembered WITCHERY anymore...
We got our s*** together for “IHIMS” in order to celebrate the band's 20th anniversary. We wrote new songs and got a few new members so we could make the album happen and have it released in 2016. But that was the goal; to merely celebrate the band's 20 years of existence. Then, after "Nosferatu” was released, this massive wave of appreciation started to surface. When the full album dropped in November 2016 we experienced a surge of positive feedback on the rest of the album as well. I mean, we all loved the album and knew it was good, but we were thrilled to see that also other people heard what we heard; that it was a great album and that this line-up had both the chops and riffs needed, displaying them with an enthusiasm and bravado perhaps not seen since maybe the early days of the band’s existence!
This feedback of positive energy set things in motion within the band. Remembering our promise from somewhere around the release of the "Dead, Hot And Heavy" album that we would put out two albums a year (youthful hubris, anyone?), we thought to ourselves: "Let's try to put out a new album within a year of the release of IHIMS". Said and done.

So here we are. It's August 2017, and we are very happy and immensely proud to announce "I Am Legion", the new full-length follow-up album to 2016's “IHIMS”, scheduled for release on November 10th! With "I Am Legion" having the same line-up, the same studio (Dugout Studios) and the same producer (Danne Bergstrand) as on “IHIMS”, you just know that this will be yet another sonic fist-to-the-face riffage offering! We think “IHIMS” is a great album, but we also think "I Am Legion" takes everything up a notch or two!
Those of you who saw us play at Wacken a few weeks ago got to hear the world premiere of the song "True North", which will be the first single from the new album. We are very excited about "I Am Legion" and we hope this release shows that WITCHERY, albeit after 20 years of existence, isn't going to fade away. On the contrary, WITCHERY is more likely entering the most productive phase yet in the band's career!"

Und zur Single: ""True North" is somewhat of a different song compared to what WITCHERY usually puts out. Maybe that's why we made it the first song on the new album? Regardless, it's a song that we in the band all really like and that most likely will become a regular in our live set."

Track List:                               

01. Legion
02. True North
03. Welcome, Night
04. Of Blackened Wing
05. Dry Bones
06. Amun-Ra
07. Seraphic Terror
08. A Faustian Deal
09. An Unexpected Guest
10. Great Northern Plague
11. The Alchemist
12. Ragnarök
13. Apex Ghoul





09.09.2017 Örebro (Sweden) - Frimis Salonger + The Haunted
10.09.2017 Linköping (Sweden) - Backstage + The Haunted
21.09.2017 Göteborg (Sweden) - Pustervik + The Haunted
22.09.2017 Stockholm (Sweden) - Debaser Strand + The Haunted
23.09.2017 Malmö (Sweden) - KB + The Haunted
29.09.2017 Hultsfred (Sweden) - Mörkaste Småland Festival
25.11.2017 Bogotá (Colombia) - Festival del Diablo III
02.-04.03.2018 Tilburg, (The Netherlands) - Netherlands Death Fest
More dates coming soon...


Angus Norder – Vocals
Jensen – Guitar
Rickard Rimfält – Lead Guitar
Sharlee D’Angelo – Bass
Chris Barkensjö – Drums

Fotocredits: Michaela Barkensjo/Sinners Art
Weitere Infos: WITCHERY

WERBUNG: Mitelalterspektakel 2018
WERBUNG: Escape Metalcorner