DRACONIAN: trauern um Sophia!

Text: FiniMiez
Veröffentlicht am 17.07.2020 um 16:00 Uhr

Die schwedischen Gothic Doom Metaller DRACONIAN werden am 30. Oktober 2020 ihr siebtes Album mit dem Titel "Under A Godless Veil" via Napalm Records veröffentlichen. Passend dazu gibt es nun das Lyric-Video zu "Sorrow Of Sophia" zu sehen.

Sängerin Anders Jacobsson kommentiert:

""Sorrow Of Sophia" was the first lyric, and one of the first songs written for "Under A Godless Veil". This was years ago now, and I remember I’d just finished a lecture on Gnostic cosmology by Terence McKenna. He’d been speaking of the goddess Sophia’s ordeal and her story affected me on a very deep level. It’s sad yet heart-wrenchingly majestic bringing all of existence into it. I knew I had to do something with it for DRACONIAN as I was already having a few of Johan’s new song-ideas. This sparked what was later to become a whole album inspired by this story. It started here, with this song.
“Sorrow Of Sophia” is a complex song about a complex spiritual being. With it comes a diverse nature consisting of an initial minimalist soulful expression to feisty, heavy riffing with a harsh demonic formula to post-rock melancholia and symphonic soundscapes. Heike’s pure and crystalline vocals are beautifully entrenched holding the very spirit of the song."

© Natalia Drepina


01. Sorrow of Sophia
02. The Sacrificial Flame
03. Lustrous Heart
04. Sleepwalkers
05. Moon Over Sabaoth
06. Burial Fields
07. The Sethian
08. Claw Marks On The Throne
09. Night Visitor
10. Ascend Into Darkness

Lyric-Video zu "Lustrous Heart"


Quellenangabe: Napalm Records
Fotocredits: Eleni Liverakou Eriksson
Weitere Infos: DRACONIAN

WERBUNG: Benediction - Scriptures