TRANSATLANTIC: stellen das erste Musikvideo und mehr Details vom kommenden Album "The Absolute Universe" online!

Text: Dark Lord
Veröffentlicht am 20.11.2020 um 15:22 Uhr

TRANSATLANTIC, die Prog Supergruppe von Neal Morse, Mike Portnoy, Roine Stolt und Pete Trewavas freuen sich, ihr fünftes Studioalbum mit dem Titel "The Absolute Universe" bekannt zu geben, das neue Album soll am 5. Februar 2021 veröffentlicht werden. Es repräsentiert die erste neue Musik der Band seit 2014, mit "The Absolute Universe" hat die Band etwas Einzigartiges gemacht und zwei Versionen der Platte erstellt: "The Absolute Universe: The Breath Of Life (Abridged Version)" und "The Absolute Universe: Forevermore (Extended Version)"!

Mike Portnoy sagte: "We've got two versions of this album. There is a two CD presentation, which is 90 minutes long, and a single one – that's 60 minutes. However, the single CD is NOT merely an edited version of the double CD. They each contain alternate versions and even in some cases, new recordings. We wrote fresh lyrics and have different people singing on the single CD version tracks as compared to those on the double CD. Some of the song titles have also been changed, while others might remain the same, but compositionally what you'll hear has been altered. You must appreciate that what we have done is unique. We revamped the songs to make the two versions different."

"We did write some new music for the single CD,” adds Pete Trewavas. "What's more, there are also differences in the instruments used on some of the tracks across the two records."
Mike Portnoy sagte: ""Reaching For The Sky" is the first single off Transatlantic’s latest Magnum opus ‘The Absolute Universe’. It’s a great introduction to this epic album as it sets the tone in traditional TA style: proceeded on the album by an extended Instrumental Overture and then launching into this upbeat first song. I love that it features one of my favorite qualities of the band in the sharing of the lead this case: Neal singing lead on Verse 1, myself singing lead on Verse 2, Pete & Neal sharing the Chorus with myself and Roine on backups and Neal taking the glorious Bridge...all leading to Roine’s distinctive guitar solo. Also interesting is that this version exclusively appears on the Abridged 1CD Version of TA5 ("The Breath Of Life") while the Extended 2CD Version of TA5 (“Forevermore”) opens with the alternate version ‘Heart Like A Whirlwind’ which has different lead vocals and lyrics."
Jedes Album wird als CD, LP und digital erhältlich sein. Es wird aber auch das sogenannte "Absolute Universum: The Ultimate Edition" geben, das beide Versionen in einem aufwendigen Paket zusammenfasst, das 5LPs, 3CDs und eine Blu-ray enthält, die einen 5.1-Surround-Sound-Mix mit Visuals und Szenen eines Dokumentarfilms enthält. Alle Ausgaben haben einzigartige Cover Artworks von Thomas Ewerhard. Vorbestellungen sind ab dem am 20. November möglich:
"The Absolute Universe: The Breath Of Life (Abridged Version)"
Special Edition CD Digipak
Gatefold 2LP+CD
Digital Album
"The Absolute Universe: Forevermore (Extended Version)"
Special Edition 2CD Digipak
3LP+2CD Boxset
Digital Album
"The Absolute Universe: The Ultimate Edition"
Limited Deluxe Clear 5LP+3CD+Blu-Ray Box-set – contained within a foil-finished lift-off box with extended 16-page LP booklet & 60x60cm poster.
Track List:
01. Overture
02. Reaching For The Sky
03. Higher Than The Morning
04. The Darkness In The Light
05. Take Now My Soul
06. Looking For The Light
07. Love Made  A Way (Prelude)
08. Owl Howl
09. Solitude
10. Belong
11. Can You Feel It
12. Looking For The Light (Reprise)
13. The Greatest Story Never Ends
14. Love Made A Way


2CD Edition, 3LP+2CD Boxset, or Digital Album
Disc 1:
1. Overture
2. Heart Like A Whirlwind
3. Higher Than The Morning
4. The Darkness In The Light
5. Swing High, Swing Low
6. Bully
7. Rainbow Sky
8. Looking For The Light
9. The World We Used To Know
Disc 2:
1. The Sun Comes Up Today
2. Love Made A Way (Prelude)
3. Owl Howl
4. Solitude
5. Belong
6. Lonesome Rebel
7. Looking For The Light (Reprise)
8. The Greatest Story Never Ends
9. Love Made A Way
Blu-Ray Track-List:
01.    Overture (5.1 Surround Mix)
02.    Reaching For The Sky (5.1 Surround Mix)
03.    Higher Than The Morning (5.1 Surround Mix)
04.    The Darkness In The Light (5.1 Surround Mix)
05.    Take Now My Soul (5.1 Surround Mix)
06.    Bully (5.1 Surround Mix)
07.    Rainbow Sky (5.1 Surround Mix)
08.    Looking For The Light (5.1 Surround Mix)
09.    The World We Used To Know (5.1 Surround Mix)
10.    The Sun Comes Up Today (5.1 Surround Mix)
11.    Love Made A Way (Prelude) (5.1 Surround Mix)
12.    Owl Howl (5.1 Surround Mix)
13.    Solitude (5.1 Surround Mix)
14.    Belong (5.1 Surround Mix)
15.    Lonesome Rebel (5.1 Surround Mix)
16.    Can You Feel It (5.1 Surround Mix)
17.    Looking For The Light (Reprise) (5.1 Surround Mix)
18.    The Greatest Story Never Ends (5.1 Surround Mix)
19.    Love Made A Way (5.1 Surround Mix)
20.    The Making of The Absolute Universe (Documentary)
Das erste Aufnahmen begann im September 2019, als sich die Band in Schweden traf, um das neue Material zu schreiben und zu arrangieren. Wie Portnoy erklärt:  "Over a period of 10-14 days, we mapped out the songs. Then we all went back to our home studios and did the recording. That's the way we always do it. At one point, though, it was suggested that instead of doing what was by that time going to be a double album, we should just be content to do a single CD."
"What happened was that everything kept expanding and expanding," recalls Stolt. “Therefore we decided it made sense to make it a double album. It was Pete and Neal who then came out and said they felt this would be too long, and we should reduce it to one…But we were already recording, and it didn't seem feasible to cut it back. There were so many pieces that each of us loved in what we were planning and didn't want to lose. That's when we ended up in discussions over the best way forward."
"Well, the idea of Transatlantic deciding to do a concept record this time around won't shock anyone, right?" fügte Portnoy hinzu. "What we have is essentially one giant composition, split into chapters. The storyline is about the struggles facing everyone in society today.” “We didn't start out with the idea of this being conceptual,” admits Stolt. “The way things work with us is that we have a load of ideas, and these are developed spontaneously when we meet up. Everything happens in the moment."
"I always try not to compare albums as much as possible, It’s very difficult when you’re trying to be creative, because your natural instinct is to constantly compare. But in order to create you have to kind of step away from that. Having said that, I would say this would have more in common with 'The Whirlwind' album  (the band's third, from 2009) than others that we’ve created."
"I think it is right up there with the very finest albums we've done. As the others have said, it compares very well to 'The Whirlwind', which I believe represents Transatlantic at our best. As on that album, we took our time to write and arrange everything, and that shines through. I am very excited for people to hear it."
Quellenangabe: InsideOut Music
Fotocredits: Tobias Andersson

WERBUNG: Benediction - Scriptures