MALACODA - neue EP "The Year Walk" 03.12.21

Veröffentlicht am 13.10.2021 um 13:00 Uhr

"The Year Walk" ist die dritte EP, die Malacoda 2021 veröffentlichen wird. 

Der langjährige Mitarbeiter Michael Farina kehrt zurück, um auf ausgewählten Tracks Schlagzeug zu spielen, sowie Ryan Claxton (TULIP, LIVING DEAD GIRL) und Andrew Suarez (ex-THE SLYDE). Das eindringliche Albumcover stammt von dem extrem talentierten Stefan Skjoedt.

Mit Gabriel Guardiola (IMMORTAL GUARDIAN) auf dem Track "Beaten Path" sowie einem herausragenden Mixing- und Mastering-Job von Jeramie Kling (THE ABSENCE, INHUMAN CONDITION, VENOM INC) umfasst "The Year Walk" alles, was die Band mit dieser Richtung erreichen wollte und schließt ein langes, mühsames Kapitel in MALACODAs Geschichte.

Frontman Lucas Di Mascio erklärt hierzu: "The majority of the songs that have been released this year were written around 2017 - before the release of our last full length, Restless Dreams. I didn't really know what to do with these songs because they were so different from Restless Dreams but still were aligned with the sound we had developed on the EP "Ritualis Aeterna". I shelved them for a bit and then decided to rework them when working with an artist who was endorsed by a big guitar brand. The artist in question wanted to have some metal material to help promote themselves, so we built a new band for the material. I was actually supposed to be the rhythm guitarist for this project- we had a different singer involved. Unfortunately that project never got off the ground after almost a year of working on it and the songs were shelved yet again. In mid 2019 I revisited the songs and wrote a few more after Zak had joined. We were excited with the material and felt it should be a MALACODA release.
We finished drum tracking right as 2019 was ending. While our initial plans drastically changed because of the pandemic, I decided that we should still release this material but just break it into EP's so we can keep busy in a time without touring."

1. The Year Walk
2. Beaten Path
3. Legacy
4. Damage Control

Lucas Di Mascio : Vocals/Guitar/Keys
Zak Stulla : Bass
Stefan Skjoedt : Artwork
Jeramie Kling : Mix/Master

Michael Farina : Drums on track 1 & 4
Andrew Suarez : Drums on track 2
Ryan Claxton : Drums on track 3
Gabriel Guardiola : Keyboard Solo on Track 2
Beth Wilson : Backup vocals on track 2
Wes MacDonald : Guitar solos


Quellenangabe: Old Haunt Studios
Fotocredits: MALACODA